Origin of Ride West!

The origin of Ride West! lies back in 2015. Here the first contact between the Ranch Roping Team and Extreme Trail Pauwels was built. Klaus Wetzel recognized the similarities between both disciplines early and choose to come to the grand opening of Extreme Trail Pauwels. Even though there wasn’t much time for big plans on opening day and the exchange of business cards was all that happened that day, those big plans should follow.

In 2016 the first clinic with Klaus was organized: Extreme Trail MEETS Ranch Roping. In the morning the participants spent time in the challenging trail and worked on different obstacles. Slowly they were introduced to the highlights such as the suspension bridge and different water obstacles. On the second day the partnership between them and their horses was strong enough to ride all the obstacles they prepared the day before without any resistance. In the afternoons the participants spent time with Klaus and received a great introduction in Ranch Roping, learned different shots and could rope first dummies from horseback on the second day. Since this first combined clinic Extreme Trail MEETS Ranch Roping took its’ annual place in the clinic program.

Through Klaus Wetzel and some events, the contact to the rest of the Ranch Roping Team was built.

In 2018 we first had the opportunity to realize a combined competition between Extreme Trail and Ranch Roping at an expo: Vaquero Horseback Extreme Trail was born. As in other horseback classes in Ranch Roping, the competitors had to ride a pattern in which different dummies were placed and needed to be caught with different technics and positions. Some shots were combined with obstacles such as a water crossing or with a stop on different bridges. This cooperation was a true success and everyone, riders from both disciplines and the spectators were fascinated of this class. It’s a real multitasking challenge for horse and rider!

After this successful cooperation first ideas for a special event began to grow. It was clear that the partnership between horse and rider, that is needed in both disciplines should be in the focus. Nobody knew how fast those ideas should become reality…

Previous Post

© 2019 Ride West!

Theme by Anders Norén

Die Entstehung

Ihren Ursprung hat Ride West! bereits im Jahr 2015. Hier bestand erstmals Kontakt zwischen dem Team des Extreme Trail Pauwels und dem Ranch Roping Team. Klaus Wetzel erkannte schon früh die Gemeinsamkeiten von beiden Disziplinen und ließ es sich somit nicht nehmen zu der Eröffnung des Extreme Trails vorbeizuschauen. Auch wenn an dem Eröffnungstag außer einer ausgetauschten Visitenkarte nicht viel Zeit für große Pläne war, sollten diese noch folgen.

Für 2016 war dann der erste gemeinsame Kurs mit Klaus geplant: Extreme Trail MEETS Ranch Roping. Die Kursteilnehmer waren vormittags mit ihren Pferden im anspruchsvollen Trail beschäftigt und erarbeiteten verschiedenste Hindernisse. Hier wurde sich langsam an die Highlights wie die Hängebrücke oder die verschiedenen Wasserstellen herangetastet, so dass diese am zweiten Tag auch geritten keinerlei Problem darstellten. Die Nachmittage verbrachte die Gruppe mit Klaus und erhielt eine grandiose Einweisung in das Ranch Roping, lernte verschiedenste Würfe kennen und konnte am letzten Tag auch vom Pferd aus trainieren. Seit diesem ersten gemeinsamen Kurs wurde Extreme Trail MEETS Ranch Roping fest in das alljährliche Kursprogramm integriert.

Durch den Kontakt zu Klaus Wetzel entstand auf einigen Veranstaltungen sehr schnell auch der Kontakt zu dem restlichen Ranch Roping Team.

2018 hatten wir erstmalig die Gelegenheit auf einer Messe eine gemeinsame Turnierklasse auszuschreiben: Vaquero Horseback Extreme Trail. Wie in den anderen Horseback Prüfungen des Ranch Ropings wird auch hier ein Parcours geritten in dem unterschiedlich platzierte Dummies aus verschiedenen Positionen und mit verschiedenen Techniken gefangen werden müssen. Die Würfe erfolgen allerdings in Kombination mit den Hindernissen, wie beispielsweise während einer Wasserdurchquerung oder auch aus dem Stand von einer der Brücken. Die Zusammenarbeit war ein voller Erfolg und wir konnten sowohl Ranch Roper, Extreme Trail Reiter, als auch das Publikum mit dieser Prüfung in den Bann ziehen. Für Pferd und Reiter ist diese Multitasking Aufgabe eine wahre Herausforderung!

Nach dieser erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit kamen die ersten Ideen für ein gemeinsames Event auf, bei dem die Partnerschaft zwischen Pferd und Mensch und unsere beiden ursprünglichen Disziplinen aus dem Ranchleben im Vordergrund stehen sollten. Wie schnell sich diese realisieren sollten, konnte damals noch niemand ahnen…

© 2019 Ride West!

Thema von Anders Norén